Criminal Traffic Tickets
Reckless driving is a serious criminal charge that can result in jail, fines, higher insurance premiums, and negative effects on your driving and criminal record.
The penalties available for reckless driving in Florida will depend on the number of prior offenses and the existence of property damage or personal injury.
A first offense in Florida (no bodily injury or property damage) is classified as a second degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 90 days in jail or 6 months of probation, and a $500 fine. A second or subsequent offense for reckless driving is also a second degree misdemeanor, but carries a maximum penalty of up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
Reckless driving penalties increase substantially where there is property damage or bodily injury. If the incident causes property damage or non-serious injury, the offense is defined as a first degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 1 year in jail or 12 months of probation, and a $1,000 fine.
If there is serious bodily injury, Florida law upgrades the offense to a third degree felony, with penalties of up to 5 years in prison or 5 years probation, and a $5,000 fine.
If you have been arrested or cited for Reckless Driving, contact JAM Law Group for a free consultation.
Servicing Broward County, Ft. Lauderdale, Plantation, Pompano Beach, Coral Springs and all areas.
Servicing Palm Beach County, Boca Raton, Delray, West Palm Beach, Boynton Beach and all areas.
Servicing Dade County, Miami, Miami Beach, Coral Gables, Down Town Miami and all areas.